Speaking of Shakespeare Link

Speaking of Shakespeare
Since the autumn of 1998, when the GUILD launched its most versatile program format with a sequence of dialogues at the NATIONAL PRESS CLUB in Washington, SPEAKING OF SHAKESPEARE has enabled attendees to meet and converse with some of the most engaging artists, journalists, and other public figures of our time. Installments in this or in closely related series have taken place under the aegis of such organizations as the AMERICAN FILM INSTITUTE, the ARTS CLUB, the BRITISH EMBASSY, the COSMOS CLUB, DACOR BACON HOUSE, the NATION'S CAPITAL BRANCH OF THE ENGLISH-SPEAKING UNION, the FOLGER SHAKESPEARE LIBRARY, FORD'S THEATRE, the FRENCH EMBASSY, the SHAKESPEARE THEATRE COMPANY, the UNIVERSITY CLUB, the WASHINGTON CLUB, and the WOMAN’S NATIONAL DEMOCRATIC CLUB in D.C., the CHICAGO SHAKESPEARE THEATER in the Windy City, and the ALGONQUIN HOTEL, the DICAPO OPERA THEATRE, the ENGLISH-SPEAKING UNION, the LAMBS, the NATIONAL ARTS CLUB, THE PLAYERS, and the PRINCETON CLUB OF NEW YORK in Manhattan, and the LENSIC PERFORMING ARTS CENTER in Santa Fe.

Events in the series have been covered not only by newspapers such as the New York Times and the Washington Post, but by American Theatre and other periodicals, And guests have included actors F. Murray Abraham, Jane Alexander, Keith Baxter, Simon Russell Beale, Zoe Caldwell, Richard Clifford, Richard Easton, Alvin Epstein, Edward Gero, Henry Goodman, Kitty Carlisle Hart, Hal Holbrook, Dana Ivey, Stacy Keach, Kevin Kline, Michael Learned, Dakin Matthews, Estelle Parsons, Christopher Plummer, Lynn Redgrave, Roger Rees, Prunella Scales, Liev Schreiber, Marian Seldes, Jean Stapleton, Janet Suzman, John Douglas Thompson, Ted van Griethuysen, Timothy West, and Michael York, directors Bill Alexander, Peter Brook, Robert Brustein, Ralph Alan Cohen, Karin Coonrod, Barry Edelstein, Barbara Gaines, Margot Harley, Jeffrey Horowitz, Nagle Jackson, Michael Kahn, Tina Packer, Molly Smith, Julie Taymor, and Robert Whitehead, dramatists Edward Albee, Michael Frayn, Ken Ludwig, and Sir Peter Shaffer, filmmaker Eleanor Bergstein, portrait painter Everett Raymond Kinstler, architect Hugh Hardy, corporate executives Kenneth Adelman and Norman Augustine, scholars, writers, and journalists E. R. Braithwaite, Robert Aubry Davis, Paul Dickson, Michael Dirda, Sir Harold Evans, Flora Fraser, Marjorie Garber, George Garrett, Adam Gopnik, Stephen Greenblatt, Marjorie Garber, John Guy, Anthony Hecht, John Heilpern, Peter Holland, Russell Jackson, David Scott Kastan, John Lahr, Sarah Lyall, Robert MacNeil, Peter Marks, Judith Martin, Richard McCoy, John Miller, Mark Olshaker, Diana Owen, Gail Kern Paster, Bill Press, Cokie Roberts and Linda Wertheimer, Neil Rudenstine, Kiernan Ryan, James Shapiro, Ammon Shea, Jesse Sheidlower, Deborah Tannen, Alden and Virginia Vaughan, Stanley Wells, and Garry Wills.

For details about offerings that have been presented in various seasons, click on the blue link for the year that interests you: 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018. And for information about upcoming programs, visit our Current Events page.