

## Guild's 2018 GIELGUD AWARD Pays Tribute to Director SIR RICHARD EYRE

Sunday, 14 October 2018
The Guildhall, City of London
Luncheon & Ceremony, 12:00-4:00

This presentation by **THE SHAKESPEARE GUILD** occurred during the **2018 UK THEATRE AWARDS** luncheon in one of England's most venerable settings. Sir lan McKellen, who'd received the inaugural Gielgud Award in 1996, bestowed the trophy.

A director, producer, and author who is globally renowned for his versatility, SIR RICHARD EYRE has directed new scripts by playwrights Alan Bennett, David Hare, and Tom Stoppard, and worked with such stars as Eileen Atkins, Ian Holm, Anthony Hopkins, Bob Hoskins, Jeremy Irons, Daniel Day-Lewis, Laura Linney, Lesley Manville, Ian McKellen, Vanessa Redgrave, Paul Scofield, and Stanley Tucci. He has written about his influential decade as head of London's National Theatre (1987-97), and earned many accolades,



among them five Olivier Awards and induction into the Companions of Honour (CH). He has directed several operas and television features, and his films include *Iris* (starring Judi Dench and Kate Winslet), *Notes on a Scandal* (starring Kate Blanchett and Judi Dench), *Stage Beauty* (starring Claire Danes), and *The Children Act* (starring Emma Thompson).

This was the Guild's fifth event at the historic Guildhall and its seventh in the UK. In 2000, following a BAFTA preview of his *Love's Labour's Lost*, the Guild honored Kenneth Branagh with a *Gielgud Award* at Middle Temple Hall. In 2004 we joined RADA and the RSC in a *Gielgud Centenary Gala* at the Gielgud Theatre, where BBC host Ned Sherrin joined hands with Alan Bennett, Dame Judi Dench, Clive Francis, Sir Peter Hall, Sir David Hare, Rosemary Harris, Barbara Jefford, Barbara Leigh Hunt, Sir lan McKellen, Michael Pennington, Ian Richardson, Paul Scofield, and Donald Sinden in a tribute to Sir John. In 2014 we presented a posthumous award to Sir Donald, with his son Marc Sinden accepting our Gielgud-inscribed Clive Francis trophy on behalf of the family. In 2015 we saluted Dame Eileen Atkins, with Sir Patrick Stewart bestowing the honor. In 2016 we honored Vanessa Redgrave CBE, with director Rupert Goold bestowing the trophy on a star who'd just won accolades as Queen Margaret in his Almeida Theatre *Richard III*. And in 2017 we saluted Sir David Hare as the first playwright to be lauded with a *Gielgud Award*.